Top 10 Posters

Does anyone know anything about making a quillow?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 7 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
32 Posts
Points 1,455
pat posted on Mon, Dec 10 2012 6:08 AM

I'm a beginner to sewing and quilting trying to become an overnight professional,lol.we received a quillow for my grandaughter's baby shower she used it till it fell apart at about 13 y/o.anyway it's a small blanket as used in preschool for naps with the top approx.half the width of the blanket you fold the blanket roll it up and push it into the pillow material and it becomes a pillow,could use any help on this if anyone has made one,googled it ,it helped but not enough for me,a newbie to understand,lots of babies being born in our family,would be a wonderful gift,any help would be appreciated,thanks again

• | Post Points: 95

All Replies

Top 100 Contributor
Female
709 Posts
Points 13,830

The only thing I have is a pattern in Fons & Porter Love of Quilting magazine Jan/Feb 2007 issue. They have that same pattern as a video on the F&P web site, but you have to be a "member" to view it. It's $2.99 / month. Here's the link to that page:

http://video.fonsandporter.com/videos/2087_learn-how-to-make-a-quillow/

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 50

Hi Pat,  Here is a great tutorial with pictures:  http://acuppaandacatchup.com/2011/05/quillow-tutorial/

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 50

Here is a great tutorial with pictures:  http://acuppaandacatchup.com/2011/05/quillow-tutorial/

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
2,749 Posts
Points 38,840
ls2116 replied on Mon, Dec 10 2012 10:33 AM

I haven't seen video or heard of quillow before but from your description I'd probably make a pillow case and attach a kids size quilt to it and when done I'd have sewed on ribbon for tieing the roll up.  Good luck but I'd check fons & porter video 1st.

Quilting My Rainbow

Top 10 Contributor
Female
13,430 Posts
Points 243,422