Fixing puckers!

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 8 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
4 Posts
Points 140
Ruthann posted on Sat, Nov 17 2012 1:41 PM

I'm really new to all of this online stuff, but I have a question about puckers. I just finished quilting a twin size quilt (doing free motion for first time) and I have a pucker on the back I'd like to fix.  Does anyone have a tried and true way of fixing them?

Thanks.

• | Post Points: 35

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
9,443 Posts
Points 127,624

Hi Ruthann, it is nice to meet you. As for your pucker, I'm not sure there is a way short of picking it all out.

Life is like a quilt...bits & pieces, joy & sorrow, stitched with love

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
4 Posts
Points 140

Nice to meet you as well.  The block is quilted with a motif design and the pucker is actually between the quilted area.  I was thinking of cutting it in the middle of the pucker and hand sewing it down.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
9,443 Posts
Points 127,624

I don't think, if it were me, that I would cut it; but, maybe you could hand applique something that goes with the theme of your quilt over it.

Not Ranked
Female
4 Posts
Points 140

I like that idea. Don't know why I didn't think of that; as I enjoy doing applique.  Sometimes two heads are better than one. :-)  This quilt has been a "challenge" for me from the get-go!  Thank you.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
9,443 Posts
Points 127,624

You are welcome Ruthann, don't forget to share pictures when you are done... :)

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
19,825 Posts
Points 248,634
Barbara replied on Sun, Nov 18 2012 10:17 AM

Ruthann sometimes depending on how big the pucker is  you can take your finger nail and work it out.  Now this will not really work if it is a really large pucker.

Liberty,Missouri

EAT!! SLEEP !! QUILT!!

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,116 Posts
Points 29,750