Quilting motif suggestions

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 12 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Female
57 Posts
Points 1,140
Judy posted on Thu, Nov 15 2012 6:12 PM

I am new to quilting so I don't have a lot of experience. I am in theprocess of this lap quilt and I can't figure out how I should quilt the inside of this panel. It is 16 x 20. So far, I stitched in the ditch and want to fill in soem of the squares, butmy main problem is the large panel with the words. Should I just quilt over the words? I have to do something because it is such a big area.

Any suggestions?

Judy Kay - Stow Ohio

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 500 Contributor
Female
122 Posts
Points 2,165
Answered (Verified) Sherry replied on Wed, Nov 21 2012 8:50 AM
Verified by Judy

i have 4 brides next year, where did yu

• | Post Points: 40

All Replies

Top 150 Contributor
Female
513 Posts
Points 10,435

All I can see of the words is "Days of Togetherness." I'm thinking maybe some interlocking hearts or something that goes along with whatever the words are about. I think it's OK to quilt over the words- I just wouldn't make the quilting too dense.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
2,574 Posts
Points 36,060
ls2116 replied on Thu, Nov 15 2012 7:20 PM

What about embroidered straight lines  under wording like lined paper.  I think I would do it by hand.

Quilting My Rainbow

Not Ranked
Female
57 Posts
Points 1,140
Judy replied on Thu, Nov 15 2012 7:53 PM

Thanks, That sounds like a great idea. It's a lap quilt for a couple getting married. I want to give it at the bridal shower. I'm going to try and run with this. Must decide soon. Shower is Saturday!!

Judy Kay - Stow Ohio

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
57 Posts
Points 1,140
Judy replied on Thu, Nov 15 2012 7:54 PM

That's a good idea too. I don't have time for this one, but maybe the next one. I have the same panel for another couple.

Judy Kay - Stow Ohio

Top 150 Contributor
Female