Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 16 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 10
Points 290
Va' quiltar! Posted: Sun, Nov 4 2012 6:17 AM

Since I write from Italy - my hometown, I am very curious in knowing how much is the average price for a yard of fabric in the usa. Here in Europe prices are awfully high to me- about 16-20 euros per meter, that should be between 20 and 28 dollars!!

this question rises from the fact that it sounds like buying fabrics in the usa is something quiet affordable. it seems like ladies can buy fabric without thinking exactly how much they need. I work in a shop that sells american quilting fabric, and most of the customers go for 8-15 inches cuts because prices are so high.

the price for a queen bed quilt goes between 200 to 300 euros depending on the batting you choose too!

va' quiltar! 

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 230
mcfay replied on Sun, Nov 4 2012 6:39 AM

Could you order over the internet and come out less. I'm afraid if I lived there I wouldn't be sewing.

I buy lots of my fabric at a place called Goodwill stores. It's places that people donate used clothing, furniture, toys and just anything they don't want. Sometime there will be estates where the person passes away, or the elderly lady may have to give up their home and go into a nursing home. The family donated her stuff that call be sold to the store. So I get bundles of fabric for $2.99 up to $4.99.

Also my daughter in law a couple months ago stoped at a yard sale, She got a whole car trunk full of quilting fabric for $10.00. It also had two boxes of thread and a box of buttons.

In fabric stores here the fabric goes for between $8.00 and about $12.00. We also have a store called Wal Mart. They sell fabric. It's not the best, but if you don't have a lot of money you can get "their" better fabric for $4.96 to $6.96 a yard.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,849
Points 85,825