Stitch in the ditch OR stipple OR both?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 5 verified answers | 10 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Female
10 Posts
Points 260
Stephanie posted on Wed, Oct 31 2012 9:34 PM

Hi! So, I'm new to the forums. I am pretty new to quilting too, but have been practicing different stitches and have been learning a lot along the way and loving every minute of it. I have a baby quilt that I've been working on, and I now have my completed quilt sandwich. All 3 layers of my quilt are cotton, including the batting, which is "warm & white". The top of my quilt is more of a non traditional take, as in it doesn't have the quilt blocks like most quilts do. It measures 40" x 40" square. The layout looks like this - 36" x 36" central area of polka dot fabric, then outside of that a 2" scrappy border of various colors, and then outside of that another 2" of the polka dot fabric. Inside the central 36" x 36" area are letters (in the lower left) that have been zig zag stitched to the top layer of the quilt. So, I now have it all layered together and basted with pins. My question (sorry that it took so long to get to it) is that I'm stuck now wondering if I should stitch in the ditch around the scrappy border first, and then stipple inside the central area, or if I should stipple throughout and then stitch in the ditch around the scrappy border, OR possibly skip the stitch in the ditch altogether and stipple throughout. I haven't done such an open area of a quilt before, so I'm just not sure what results I would get if I ditch stitched first and then proceeded to stipple throughout the center afterwards. Would I see any shrinkage or bunching with it being such a large area of stippling? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance! :)

• | Post Points: 50

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Not Ranked
Female
4 Posts
Points 105
Verified by Stephanie