Top 10 Posters

Does anyone use a Quilt Back with Muslin?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 12 verified answers | 21 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
19 Posts
Points 300
Silverlining posted on Wed, Oct 31 2012 11:49 AM

I am doing the Craftsy BOM.  So, I was just wondering... since this is probably not my best work... does anyone use muslin anymore for quilt back?  If so,  what quality to buy?  And where do you purchase it??

I could really use  your help.  What do you think?  I am a newbie quilter so any advice is welcome.

Thanks

• | Post Points: 95

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,018 Posts
Points 28,450
Answered (Verified) Ramona replied on Wed, Oct 31 2012 11:56 AM
Verified by Silverlining

Silverlining,

When I first started quilting I never used muslin for backing. Now I try to use the wide backs to save a few dollars. But there are just quilts that call for muslin and I have certainly used the bleached and unbleached. I have purchased mine, with a coupon, from JoAnn's.  Sorry, I don't know the brand. I just went and looked and since I bought yardage and not a bolt, I don't have the name. It feels good though.  But it is certainly ok to use the muslin in my opinion.

• | Post Points: 40
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,400 Posts
Points 415,559
Answered (Verified) gini replied on Wed, Oct 31 2012 12:22 PM
Verified by Silverlining

hi silver lining, welcome to the group. i use muslin on the backs of my appliqued quilts, i use a good quality muslin.   mainly i like to piece my backs, but i need to be aware if i need   a light background, piecing or a patterned backing can show through to the top.

gini in north idaho

Top 25 Contributor
Female
3,520 Posts
Points 50,910
Answered (Verified) Ginny replied on Wed, Oct 31 2012 4:06 PM
Verified by Silverlining