Page 1 of 2 (18 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 17 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 6
Points 240
Dray Posted: Fri, Oct 26 2012 6:05 AM

I am a a retired Choral Directress (21 years) and School Counselor (16 years). I am a wife, mother to 4 adult children, grandmother to 8, and greatgrandmother to 1.

I am new to quilting. I've actually sewn for years but making clothes for myself and my 4 children. I learned to sew from my mother who was a great dressmaker and quilter, but I was only interested in clothing. So I missed out on all she could have taught me as far as quilting goes.

But clothing patterns became too high, as did material, thread, zippers, buttons, etc. So I finally gave that up. We were on a budget and it was more economical to cloth my family from the local stores than to make them at home.

But I miss sewing. So I've decided to quilt. I've already made one but it was a struggle. I'm hoping to learn from all of you. My favorite saying to my school children, who were hesitant to make suggestions to a teacher), was that "all of us are smarter than one of us." I feel this is the case in this instance and am looking forward to learning.

Glad to be here,

Dray from Oklahoma

• | Post Points: 110
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,497
Points 30,470
Diana replied on Fri, Oct 26 2012 6:25 AM

Welcome Dray,   We quilters are a fun bunch and we love to share our love of quilting.  We have a few quilters here from OK so you may find a real close quilting buddy.   As my teachers always said..'There are no dumb questions, just dumb answers'.   lol   So ask away.  There are also lots of groups you can join for specialized help.  Jump right in and enjoy yourself.

Diana (Bink) in East Tn. 

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Male
Posts 15
Points 585