Top 10 Posters

Has anyone quilted with old, worn material

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 14 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
5 Posts
Points 130
canlen posted on Wed, Oct 24 2012 6:36 PM

I am an avid quilter but have never worked with old material. I have taken apart my quilt from when I was a baby to requilt it for my daughter. Upon taking it apart, I realized that the top and bottom fabrics are really worn and fragile. Is there anything I can do to make it more durable? I was thinking stabilizer but am afraid to iron it on without knowing if it would work. Anyone have any ideas or tips for me??

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,788 Posts
Points 122,730
Suggested by Mia

Canlen.  I'm no expert in this field, in fact I know nothing. But I was in the quilt shop the other day looking for some light muslin to back an embroidery project. The owner showed me an iron-on product that I bought. It's a very very lightweight iron on stabilizer and looks like a thin white muslin. It doesn't wash out and it doesn't add much weight at all. It's called Pellon SF101 Shape-Flex. I wonder if this would work to sturdy up your old fabric pieces.

You could check with your local quilt shop and see what they say. Good luck and be sure to post pictures of your quilt before and after.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,467 Posts
Points 416,899
gini replied on Wed, Oct 24 2012 7:01 PM

hi canlen, welcome to the group.  other than basting it to muslin and letting the muslin take the stress, i don't know of anything.  you might try judy's idea. 

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
9,443 Posts
Points 127,624

Hi canlen and welcome to QCA, very nice to meet you. Sorry, i cannot help you with your question either.

Life is like a quilt...bits & pieces, joy & sorrow, stitched with love

Top 10 Contributor
Female
19,778 Posts
Points 248,014
Suggested by Mia