New member and struggling with my ambitions

Page 2 of 2 (29 items) < Previous 1 2 | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 28 Replies | 8 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,514
Points 30,780
Diana replied on Wed, Oct 24 2012 11:52 AM

Welcome and join right in.  I've been quilting for about 15 years and enjoy it all.  I tie a lot of my quilts but I'm going to learn to FMQ one of these days soon.   I have a special quilt I want to hand quilt too.  I have hand quilted 2 wall hangings but not a whole quilt.  I really love to sew on bindings.  The hand stitiching of the binding onto the back is my relax time in front of the tv.  It's also my favorite part because when it's done.....my quilt is done.  I include putting the label before the binding so that 2 sides of the label are incorporated into the binding and less hand stitching there too.  Join right in and have a great time.  We love to pass on our love of quilting.

Diana (Bink) in East Tn.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 524
Points 13,340
Claudette replied on Wed, Oct 24 2012 12:42 PM

BB - I have this book and am excited to try the techniques in it.  http://www.amazon.com/Foolproof-Machine-Quilting-Paper-Cut-ebook/dp/B004GCK7G0

I like this book because it shows that you can really do a lot with a walking foot.  I'm not limited to straight line quilting!  However, I do have to get some blocks or quilt tops done first...

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,443
Points 127,624

That looks very interesting Claudette, it would be fun for doing table toppers and placemats and such. I put it on my wish list...

Life is like a quilt...bits & pieces, joy & sorrow, stitched with love

Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 524
Points 13,340
Claudette replied on Wed, Oct 24 2012 3:17 PM

I plan to use the techniques for quilt as you go blocks.  Maybe I'll do it for my Craftsy BOM quilt.

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,059
Points 13,715
Carey replied on Wed, Oct 24 2012 3:26 PM