Question RE: vintage hand stitch quilt and quilting $

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 12 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
24 Posts
Points 555
Tammy posted on Tue, Oct 9 2012 2:44 PM

I have been asked to quilt a vintage top, probably late 60's early 70's. The customer has indicated that the pieces were probably hand stitched and I think I read somewhere that you shouldn't mix hand stitching and machine quilting. Is this accurate? And if so, what would the charge be for hand quilting. I'm a machine quilter by trade, so a little unsure...

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,720 Posts
Points 436,870
Answered (Verified) Nana replied on Wed, Oct 10 2012 11:29 AM
Verified by Tammy

Tammy

You can machine quilt a hand pieced quilt top.  But like others have suggested I would discuss with the owner what she expects.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 40

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,402 Posts
Points 415,629
gini replied on Tue, Oct 9 2012 10:00 PM

You need to discuss with the owner all the pros and cons of hand quilting vs. machine quilting,what her expectations are and the differences in cost, and outcome of the finished product.  

I was born in 1953, am I vintage, too?

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 50
Top 10 Contributor
Female
9,443 Posts
Points 127,624

gini:

:) :)

Life is like a quilt...bits & pieces, joy & sorrow, stitched with love

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
24,726 Posts
Points 364,652
Kris replied on Wed, Oct 10 2012 12:53 AM

gini:

I don't think you qualify...yet. LOL

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
24 Posts
Points 555
Tammy replied on Wed, Oct 10 2012 3:38 AM

Actually, anything over 20 years is vintage, so even at 35 I am as well. Not antique, mind you, but vintage. ;) My actual concern is whether I can mix hand sewn patchwork with machine quilting. 

• | Post Points: 35
Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,280 Posts
Points 28,950