Matching fabric

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 21 Replies | 8 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
735 Posts
Points 18,400
Brigit-Carol posted on Fri, Oct 5 2012 3:32 PM

Hello all.  I'm not very good at matching fabric.  I'm making pie carriers and wonder if these fabrics would work OK.  I thought of doing front/ back with the floral and circles, and the same with the circles and honeycomb.  On both pair, only two colours match but I'm hoping I might get away with them since they won't be side by side.  

Edited to add:  picture is cut off, but if you click on it, a new window will open with the whole array.  

Brigit-Carol

• | Post Points: 170

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,741 Posts
Points 436,650
Nana replied on Fri, Oct 12 2012 10:35 PM

Belfry bat

I used a layer of lightweight batting and a layer of stabilizer when I made mine.  The stabilizer made them more sturdy and the batting gave them a soft feel.   The batting also provides some insulating properties.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 5
Top 150 Contributor
Female
426 Posts
Points 9,220
Pamela replied on Sat, Oct 13 2012 8:47 AM

I'm going to be the kink in the chain. Sorry, but my first response was that the floral and large circles do not go together. All three fabrics are pretty, but I would match the smaller honeycomb with either of the larger prints.

Both of the larger prints are competing for attention here. The smaller print gives the eye a place to rest.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
13,709 Posts
Points 248,377
Thea replied on Sat, Oct 13 2012 5:59 PM

Belfrybat - I think they all go together - there are colors in each fabric that coordinate - I would have to see the pattern to see just how big the pieces are to say whether they would look good next to each other or not.  It is very hard to say.  Sometimes you think something would stink and it amazes you just how good it does - but your fabrics all coordinate.

• | Post Points: 20