Matching fabric

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 21 Replies | 8 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
735 Posts
Points 18,400
Brigit-Carol posted on Fri, Oct 5 2012 3:32 PM

Hello all.  I'm not very good at matching fabric.  I'm making pie carriers and wonder if these fabrics would work OK.  I thought of doing front/ back with the floral and circles, and the same with the circles and honeycomb.  On both pair, only two colours match but I'm hoping I might get away with them since they won't be side by side.  

Edited to add:  picture is cut off, but if you click on it, a new window will open with the whole array.  

Brigit-Carol

• | Post Points: 170

All Replies

Not Ranked
Female
34 Posts
Points 735

I can't wait to see what others say ---- I have the same problem you do ---- no confidence in my color choices and pattern mixing. I think these look good (and I have that floral and LOVE it!).

• | Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
2,904 Posts
Points 40,845

for me i like the floral of coarse with the small circles.

Quilting My Rainbow

Top 500 Contributor
Female
77 Posts
Points 1,665
JodyS replied on Fri, Oct 5 2012 6:35 PM

Belfrybat, I think those colors are wonderful together! They are close enough and, to me, the contrasts are great. Should make some incredible pie carriers.

JodyS

Not Ranked
Female
2 Posts
Points 10

They look good to me and I don't have any eye for color.  I, too, struggle with the same problem. 

Top 25 Contributor
Female
9,059 Posts
Points 170,827

Any chance you have a solid in any of the blues that you could substitute for the smallest print?  Just my two cents.

On the banks of the Mississippi River in north central Minnesota (Brainerd lakes area)

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Female
735 Posts
Points 18,400

MNnancy:

Any chance you have a solid in any of the blues that you could substitute for the smallest print?  Just my two cents.