This post has 17 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 3
Points 210
Bill e Bear Posted: Tue, Sep 11 2012 12:15 AM

Good Morning all,

I am new to the hobby and the site.

I am lucky to have an amazing partner of 18 years who when we were looking for a new house found us one that I have a home office, but also have about 500 square feet of open basement space that is raw and waiting to be built out for rmy hobbies.

I have already made spaces for my jewelry making, scrap booking and cake decorating. Now I need to design my sewing and quilting area. I would love any advice onto what furniture and equipment to put in my space.

I am looking forward to communicating with you all and learning from you.

Big hugs

Bill-E-Bear

Blooming Grove, NY

• | Post Points: 140
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 14,247
Points 254,337
Thea replied on Tue, Sep 11 2012 2:12 AM

Welcome to the site Bill, there are lots of suggestions that you can find for sewing rooms - do a search on the home page and you will find where we have all posted about our sewing rooms... a friend Helen from Canada and Judy from up north USA both have wonderful pictures on there where they remodeled their sewing rooms... awesome Ikea furniture.

Welcome again and look forward to seeing some of your quilts.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,741
Points 436,790
Nana replied on Tue, Sep 11 2012 6:23 AM

Welcome Bill.   I hope you enjoy your time with us.   Such fun designing a sewing area.   Especially when you have a blank slate to start with.   I recently purchased a Kangaroo and Joey table and chest for my sewing machine as well as the Dingo cutting table and storage chest.   They are both great pieces and I love them to death.   Good luck on finding pieces for your area.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,176
Points 15,260
Dawn replied on Tue, Sep 11 2012 6:42 AM