rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 703
Points 11,570
Bev Posted: Tue, Sep 4 2012 12:09 PM

To all,

I'm saving my pennies so I can buy an embroidery machine. What make/model would you suggest? 

I am a beginner but want a good but reasonably priced machine that I would not want to upgrade anytime soon.

Thanks for any input....

from TN

• | Post Points: 20
Top 200 Contributor
Posts 364
Points 4,680
Kelli replied on Tue, Sep 4 2012 12:15 PM

I have a Brother PE-780D it is a nice little machine. All it does is embroidery and it has an area up to 5X7. I got a refurbished machine for $800 about 6 months ago. I will say that when I first got it I had tons of problems with the bobbin tension. After much frustration and no real help from the dealer (I could have forced the issue but chose not to) I ordered a new bobbin case and haven't had any problems since. (Knock on wood). The other thing is it doesn't like coats and clark thread which after I figured out is no big deal. I did buy the PE Design software to go with it and I highly recommend to avoid that because there is no real support or lessons and it is hard to figure out.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,603
Points 247,032
Thea replied on Tue, Sep 4 2012 12:54 PM

I have a couple - shame on me -

I started with a Pfaff - and love my Pfaff - it is the 2170 and when it works is great - it is working right now but I have had many issues with it - it does sewing and embroidery and is quite expensive... then I have 2 brothers - one is strictly embroidery and when I get it out and use it - it is really nice - i think it is the same one as Kelli spoke of but since I moved out of my sewing room and gave all that area to my Mom - it is hidden under a table...