Top 10 Posters

Craftsy Block of the Month Class #2

Page 12 of 28 (406 items) « First ... < Previous 10 11 12 13 14 Next > ... Last » | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 405 Replies | 23 Followers

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,673
Points 65,760
Bonita replied on Sat, Sep 29 2012 10:58 PM

Very pretty Dara Beth, love the pink fabric.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,464
Points 116,640

Craftsy block on the month for October is up and running already. Paper Piecing.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,273
Points 173,308
Marie replied on Sun, Sep 30 2012 11:21 AM

Very nice blocks, Dara, nice job.

Millbury, MA

Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 655
Points 16,585

Question -- I've never done paper piecing before as I'm really new to quilting.  But I have read directions and watched a couple of tutorials and none of them had you perforate the paper ahead of time.  It seems this adds a lot of time to the procedure, but if it's necessary I'll do it for these two blocks (and then never paper piece again!).  Does this help the paper tear off easier?  I can't think of any other reason to do it.  Can someone who is knowledgeble about this method comment on the necessity of perforating the lines on the paper beforehand?  Thanks.

Brigit-Carol

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 871
Points 14,240
Dara replied on Sun, Sep 30 2012 5:38 PM

Belfrybat,

The perforation before sewing is something I've not seen before.  I wouldn't bother with it if I were you.  The shorter stitch length when you are sewing will be enough to enable you to remove the paper once the blocks have been sewn into the quilt.  I do not remove the paper until the pieces have been sewn together. Because of the way the blocks are constructed, the outside edges are most likely NOT on the straight of grain.  Leaving the paper on, stabilizes the fabric and keeps it from stretching out of shape.

Mineral Wells, West Virginia