Top 10 Posters

Longarmers Share #2

Page 14 of 37 (550 items) « First ... < Previous 12 13 14 15 16 Next > ... Last » | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 549 Replies | 37 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,057
Points 29,065
Ramona replied on Sun, Nov 11 2012 8:31 AM

Robyn Smith,

Sticking my nose in and you've already started your project. I have never quilted a round tree skirt. Found the outside in quilting interesting. I've only tied them. However, I have heard when you see that a quilting project has a lot of fullness a good idea is to use a higher loft batting. That helps to take up some of the slack.  Just food for thought. Like Jeanine, I have no experience on this.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 806
Points 12,419
Joan L. replied on Sun, Nov 11 2012 8:44 AM

Hello Robyn, I am a fairly new longarmer and I quilted a round table topper. Like in quilting I am self taught and didn't know round things are difficult. I loaded my backing, spray basted my topper and quilted as usual. It came out great. It seems I have my worst problems after I hear that something is difficult because then I try to take precautions and then I get into trouble.Case inpoint. I am now having trouble keeping my quilt square and straight. Didn't have that problem in the begining because I didn't do all that measureing and basting as I quilted. Now I need some advice on that. Go figure. Sometimes ignorance is bliss.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 238
Points 4,295
Christine replied on Sun, Nov 11 2012 4:26 PM

Thank you for the tips!  I'll check those websites. 

I've got 5 quilts to longarm this week. This is the first one. It's by a 12 yr old beginner, the daughter of a friend. There are tucks everywhere, her goal was to match her corners (big smile). I thought I'd do an all over swirl to disguise the puffy areas. She's a darling little girl.