Page 1 of 2 (26 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 25 Replies | 10 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 703
Points 17,545
Brigit-Carol Posted: Fri, Aug 17 2012 9:50 AM

I am joining another square swap and this one is Autumn rustic cabin.  I found a great print which turned out to be a bit dark, so I bordered it with green to sort of bring out the colours.  Now I have to decide on the other colours/ patterns.  I had two pieces in my stash I thought would work.  I made up two flying geese units but can't decide if they go well or not.  Or if they do go OK, which one to use.  This will end up being an 8 pointed star.  Would you please tell me what you think?  If you think I need to start over with new fabrics (except the cabin and green frame), then could you be specific?  I will be making around 20 of these so would like not to purchase more than one other fabric. Oh, and excuse the mistake on the right goose -- I'm still learning how to make fabric go the way I want it to.

Brigit-Carol

• | Post Points: 155
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,209
Points 16,230
Susan replied on Fri, Aug 17 2012 10:23 AM

I like the one on left side. Susan

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,356
Points 31,985
MaxNTopeka replied on Fri, Aug 17 2012 10:27 AM

I like the one on the right, (as you are looking at the picture).  It seems to me to pull the orange and yellow  out of the cabin picture, and lets the green really stand out more. 

It's a hard decision because both ways look nice.  You put some good color combinations together.

Max

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
quiltclown replied on Fri, Aug 17 2012 10:33 AM

I think your choices are gorgeous!  The brown appears as wood grain that complements the cabin.  The gold print is a perfect bright and your green evokes the woodsy feel. Well done!

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,656
Points 136,082
Leslie replied on Fri, Aug 17 2012 10:37 AM