Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 16 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 71
Points 2,455
nitchals Posted: Tue, Jan 5 2010 8:20 PM

I am grid quilting a XXXX design.  I am using a quarter inch quilting foot (shown below).  I thought the guide would be helpful to not have to draw everything out first, so I set the guide at an inch and went to work.  I did the whole set of diagnal lines (one way) and now I am going back to do the cross lines.  I am finding that I am getting more puckers where the two lines meet than I would like.  Suggestions for how I should do this differently, it's my first time trying this style. 

Thanks in advance!

• | Post Points: 110
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,445
Points 94,185

My guess is you need to pin the layers closer together. So, if you have your pins at about a 5" spacing, you need it to be 4". The other thing you might do is slow down when you come to a cross line and make sure your kind of pulling the fabric away from both sides of the needle so the fabric is perfectly flat.

Gillette, WY

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,741
Points 436,790
Nana replied on Tue, Jan 5 2010 9:12 PM

My suggestion would be to go slower and make sure the fabric is pulled taut at the intersections of stitching.

Vinton, Virginia

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 26,171
Points 387,732
Kris replied on Tue, Jan 5 2010 9:23 PM

I agree with Judy and Nana. I don't think the foot and guide are the problem. You need to keep both hands flat on the quilt to keep it taut as you sew.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,771
Points 65,968
Jeanine replied on Tue, Jan 5 2010 10:56 PM

I never do well without using a walking foot to help pull the top layer with the bottom layer.  I never tried the guide before.  I tend to just eye it but I also don't get things perfectly straight or even.  I guess I'm not much help here.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,741