Easy pattern for a new quilter

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 6 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
20 Posts
Points 225
bixler posted on Sun, Aug 5 2012 6:19 PM

Hi,

I am new to quilting.  I have taken 3 beginners classes and I feel ready to attempt a queen size quilt.  What would be the easiest pattern for me to try?  I thought at first a log cabin pattern but now I thing a turning twenty quilt may be easy.  Perhaps in fall fabrics?  If anyone could give me advice I would truly appreciate it.

Thanks,

Sandy

• | Post Points: 35

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,741 Posts
Points 436,665
Nana replied on Sun, Aug 5 2012 6:28 PM

Sandy

The turning twenty patterns are easy and make beautiful quilts.   Log cabins are fairly easy as long as you can keep consistent seams.  Another easy one is the 9 patch and the brick road patterns.  Just have fun and enjoy the journey

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,770 Posts
Points 66,013

Those are both good quilts to make.  One of my first quilts was Eleanor Burns's trip around the world.  She also has a quick trip pattern that is a little easier.

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Female
9 Posts
Points 150

I will have to try these... Thanks....

Sharon

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
20 Posts
Points 225

Thank you Nana;

What would you think about the turning twenty pattern in fall batik colors?  I have seen the disappearing 9 patch patterns that look easy and I just looked up a brick road pattern.  Thank you so much for the reply! 

By the way, how long have you been making quilts?

Sandy

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
20 Posts
Points 225

Hi Jeanine,

Thank you for your reply.  I wil have to see what this trip around the world pattern looks like.  I am leaning towards the turning twenty in fall batik colors.  However, all of these easy patterns will give me experience!

Sandy

Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,741 Posts
Points 436,665