Top 10 Posters

Need suggestions for quilting with metallic thread

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 12 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
3 Posts
Points 120
LauraJP posted on Sun, Jul 22 2012 6:31 AM

I decided to step out of my comfort zone...instead of using invisible thread and stitching in the ditch, I'm trying a Sulky metallic thread and using the blanket stitch on my sewing machine.  It started out just fine, but now the bobbin thread is pulling thru to the top and the metallic thread occasionally breaks.  I've set the tension as low as I can, but still haveing problems.  Maybe using that thread wasn't a good idea?  Any suggestions?

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
1,507 Posts
Points 30,670
Diana replied on Sun, Jul 22 2012 8:55 AM

I'm not a thread expert, but I've heard you need a bigger eyed needle for the metallic threads because of the way metallic threads are made.  They are usually flat instead of round so they might need more room to slide thru the eye of the needle.  Hope this helps you out.

Diana in East Tn. 

• | Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,770 Posts
Points 66,013

I was also going to suggest a bigger needle.  http://softexpressions.com/help/faq/faqmetallicthread.html offers some tips but the first is the correct needle.

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,770 Posts
Points 66,013

http://softexpressions.com/help/faq/faqmetallicthread.html

Top 25 Contributor
Female
6,398 Posts
Points 119,581
Patti replied on Sun, Jul 22 2012 9:06 AM

I have  some metallic thread, but I haven't used it yet.  But I have a book, Machine Quilting Made Easy, that has in the back different threads with suggested needles, etc.   Tell me the brand and size of thread and I will look up what it says for that thread. 

Patti

Chiliwist Valley

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,400 Posts
Points 415,559
gini replied on Sun, Jul 22 2012 11:54 AM