Hi! I'm new here.

Page 1 of 2 (16 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 15 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 145
lanic Posted: Wed, Jun 27 2012 5:43 PM

Hi all, I'm new to quilting but LOVE it.  I have a question about sewing machines.  I have a pretty standard Husqvarna basic machine and am struggling a bit.  Do any of you have a suggestions about the best intermediate sewing machine for quilting?  All comments welcome and thanks.

LaniC

• | Post Points: 125
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,657
Points 136,092
Leslie replied on Wed, Jun 27 2012 5:54 PM

Hi Lani, welcome. I have a Janome 7700, that i love but they are a bit pricey, i guess it depends on how much you want to spend.

[Ava, Missouri

• | Post Points: 5
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,368
Points 19,470
safrmaz replied on Wed, Jun 27 2012 6:00 PM

Hi Lani, welcome!

I have a Janome 6600, a Janome 3160QDC which is lighter in weight for classes, retreats, etc., and a 28 yr. old Bernina 930 that I'll never part with.  I love Berninas but the models that would give me more features than my 930 were a lot more than I was willing to spend.  I'm quite happy with my Janomes so far.  I have had them less than a year.

Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 420
Points 28,385

Welcome Lani.  Hope you enjoy your time here.  Everyone is very friendly and helpfyl.

As far as advice on machines, I also have a Husqvarna. Mine is an Emerald 203.  I bought it on clearance and love it but I do not think it is available any longer.

What is making you struggle with your machine?

Good luck.  Sorry I wasn't much help.

Darlene

from Western New York

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 145
lanic replied on Wed, Jun 27 2012 8:14 PM

Hi Darlene,  thanks for the reply.  I have a model 116, pretty basic, and I seem to be having trouble with layers of fabric at seam areas.  The machine seems to bog down.  Probably just me, not only a quilt novice but a sewing machine novice as well.