Page 1 of 2 (26 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 25 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 10
Points 375
JSBrasher Posted: Sun, Dec 27 2009 2:41 PM

Hi everyone,

I am new to quilting (well, I grew up under my grandmother's quilting frame), and am looking for ANY tips I can find. I am working on my first quilt. A simple 9 patch, with the center patch also a 9 patch. I am making it in brown calico and ecru fabrics. My grandmother has been kind of helpful, but she usually just buys pre-printed quilt tops and quilts those. I am looking to be more hands-on with my quilts, and hope to finish one completely by hand in 2010.

Jess

• | Post Points: 95
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 205
Points 3,475
Tink922 replied on Sun, Dec 27 2009 2:44 PM

Wow, Jess, you are ambitious! I'm a quilt-newbie, too, and am having a hard enough time learning using a machine. ;-) Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

North Central Ohio

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,059
Points 170,797
MNnancy replied on Sun, Dec 27 2009 2:58 PM

Tink922:
and am having a hard enough time learning using a machine.

I agree, Tink!  Keeping an accurate 1/4 inch seam was the first important lesson I learned.  However does one do that when hand-sewing a quilt???

On the banks of the Mississippi River in north central Minnesota (Brainerd lakes area)

Not Ranked
Posts 10
Points 375
JSBrasher replied on Sun, Dec 27 2009 3:05 PM

I was at Joanns yesterday, and I found the niftiest stuff!!! It is called Quilter's tape. It is exactly 1/4 inch wide, and you place it one one piece of your fabrics, and sew along the bottom edge of it. It is made by the Dritz company.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 10
Points 375
JSBrasher replied on Sun, Dec 27 2009 3:06 PM

One other thing -- HOW do I get the adorable font signature that you both have???

• | Post Points: 35
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 205
Points 3,475
Tink922 replied on Sun, Dec 27 2009 3:11 PM