Embroidery on a quilt top question

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 8 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 500 Contributor
Female
90 Posts
Points 2,015
Denise (denilyn) posted on Wed, May 23 2012 6:22 PM
I am in the process of making a wall quilt for my granddaughter. She would like to have butterflies so I decided to cheat and use machine embroidery applique...now comes the question. I have never done this before and am looking for assistance. I do not really want to put the quilt top in the hoop because it will leave marks and sometimes they don't iron out very nicely. I was told to use sticky back wash-away stabilizer, hoop it, peel away the paper and then stick the quilt top to it but I was thinking if I do that then it will not have any real stabilizer behind it. So, then I thought, well maybe I should use that, stick a piece of stabilizer on that, spray that with adhesive and then put the quilt top on that and then embroider it...oh my. Ya think that will gum up my needle and should I use a larger needle...what size? I would like anyone's thought and/or idea on this. Thanks so much, Denilyn
  • | Post Points: 80

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,195 Posts
Points 24,070