Top 10 Posters

What to make for my nephew's wedding? (I'm a beginner)

Page 1 of 2 (22 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 21 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 33
Points 805
jrcgj Posted: Sat, May 19 2012 3:44 PM

I do have another question. My nephew is getting married in May 2013 and since I'm a beginner I was wondering what kind of quilt to make? Any suggestions?

• | Post Points: 50
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 402
Points 6,110
Pat M. replied on Sat, May 19 2012 5:48 PM

Disappearing 9-Patch is very easy to do but looks much harder; Yellow Brick Road is a "go-to" pattern for many quilters; and  patterns from any of the Turning Twenty series would be nice (they can be made larger by using 30 fat quarters and adding borders).

Pat--"Keep Calm and Carry On"

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,971
Points 27,675
Ramona replied on Sat, May 19 2012 9:16 PM

jrcgj,

Pat gave you some really good suggestions for quick and easy quilts and work very well for beginners. Those would of been my choices. Your nephew and wife will love any pattern you make because "Aunt" made it.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,253
Points 239,992
Thea replied on Sat, May 19 2012 9:23 PM

Jrcgi, what kind of quilt would you like to make?  Do you want something that looks spectacular but is easy to make - or do you want just a simple quilt that they can use all the time... I think the neatest looking quilts are made with 1/2 square triangles in the Ohio Star - it is an awesome looking quilt and not that hard - but would love to help you decide... I would not recommend a log cabin for a beginner but I would recommend almost any star pattern except the mariner's star!

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 33
Points 805
jrcgj replied on Sun, May 20 2012 7:42 AM