Thread & Material & Color Mixups!

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 11 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
62 Posts
Points 1,090
Susan posted on Sun, Apr 29 2012 9:01 AM

I could really use some help on basic supply issues!

Thanks, Quiltdaddy for explaining about looking for the feel, the opaqueness and the brand of fabric to tell if it's quality. Now I need to expand my supply education.

FABRIC

Just what brands of fabric should I look for?

THREAD

And... What brand of thread do you like & can you find sales on it anyplace? How do you match it easily to patterns? I'd really like to find good quality, less expensive sets of embroidery thread.

I bought an embroidery thread set at my LQS (babylock dealer) but it's NOT a brand that I can find anyplace else and their online ordering system sucks. Now I'm faced with having to try to match colors visually & I'm not good at it. Simple patterns aren't a problem but yesterday I did a test run of a panel with 38 color changes & I'm ready to forget the embroidering part totally!

COLOR MIXUP!

And if that's not enough to make me forget about machine embroidery, for some reason when I purchase a pattern online, the colors listed get all mixed up. If I look at the color chart on the website, the colors are different from what shows up on my machine & even the ones that are listed in the PDF file I've downloaded. Im not just talking about a slight color differentation but blues turn into yellows, blacks to greens (the colors displayed and the descriptions change)! I use the softwar program that came with my Babylock (Palette pts?) Anyone else have this weird problem?

Susan 

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Female
1,923 Posts
Points 26,980
Ramona replied on Sun, Apr 29 2012 5:48 PM

Susan,