Top 10 Posters

Civil War Block Help, Please!!!!!!!!!

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 25 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
36 Posts
Points 525
CathyQuilter posted on Thu, Apr 26 2012 11:51 PM

Hello! I am in need of help from my new QCA friends! I want to make a quilt for my brother-in-law using Civil War reproduction fabric. I would like to use blocks used in that time period, as well. However, I am new to quilting and have no idea what  the names of blocks from the 1800s are (were). I have googled until I can google no more and can't find the names of blocks from this era so I can find patterns for the blocks. My wish is to give the names of the blocks and a bit of their history along with the quilt. Many blogs have "Civil War" blocks, but either no patterns, or the blocks have names made by the author of the blog to explain a part of the history discussed in the post. Can anyone help me? Thank you! :)

Cathy from California

• | Post Points: 80

All Replies

Not Ranked
Female
36 Posts
Points 525

Kris:

Barbara Brackman has a block called Civil War Quilts. She posted a block every week for a year. Check it out you might find something you like. The link I included starts with block one.

She provides some great history with each block as well.

I hope this helps.

What a wonderful resource, Kris! Thank you so much for your help! I am excited to look at this blog more! :)

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
36 Posts
Points 525

Linda:

There is a quilt book called "Underground Railroad" by Eleanor Burns & Sue Bouchard. I'm a former CS re-enactor...contact me at my.sewingroom@hotmail.com and I'll help all I can.

Thank you so much, Linda! I will take a look at this book. I would love to share a little history of the blocks along with the quilt! I may contact you in the near future!

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
36 Posts
Points 525

Judy T-Bellingham:

Linda: