Top 10 Posters

Having trouble with pinwheel quilt pattern!

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 3 verified answers | 11 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
47 Posts
Points 1,780
Lindy posted on Sat, Apr 14 2012 2:31 PM

So recently I decided to make a pinwheel quilt with blue and white fabric. I love the block it is very pretty but my points in the middle don't match up well. I thought I cut them out alright but when I sew them together they don't match up. I was so upset about it I  almost gave up on it, mind you I''m not selling it or giving it away it will be mine for me only but still. I want it to at least look pretty on my bed I have watched videos and seen pictures but should I have bought a ruler to do this project? I have trouble with counting the measurements so I try and eye it best I can when cutting with is probably a huge mistake but I am still new to do doing more then just a 9 patch quilt.  Any advice you could share would great.

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,478 Posts
Points 41,325
Answered (Verified) Mimi replied on Sat, Apr 14 2012 3:39 PM
Verified by Lindy

There are a couple of things I do to make the points match.  When I make the half square triangle blocks I usually oversize them.  If I want the block to be 4 inches when finished I add an inch rather than the 7/8ths.  Then I square up the piece to be the 4.5 unfinished that I want it to be.  I make sure to put the middle of the square where the white and blue come together on the diagonal of my ruler before I cut.  That way if I've made mistakes while sewing I can cut off the excess and still have a block that will fit with the others.