Managing fabric scraps

Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 135
quilting diva Posted: Sat, Mar 31 2012 6:00 PM

Hi, I am a newbie here.  I have been quilting for a few years now, so as most of you know, we can be overrun with scraps.  Some of them are too big to throw away so I am wondering if anyone has some suggestions on how to decide which to keep and throw away.  Also how to organize them,( if it is at all possible to even do it!)  It will be nice to hear from you.  Thanks, Quilting Diva

• | Post Points: 65
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,721
Points 436,920
Nana replied on Sat, Mar 31 2012 6:06 PM

Diva

I have beens that I put my scraps in.  I try to cut my scraps down as I am cutting my quilt pieces. I cut into 2 1/2 sq, 4 1/2 sq, 61/2 sq and then also 2 1/2 x 41/2 and 2 1/2 x 6 1/2 in rectangles and have a different bin for each size.  I also keep some that I don't want to mess with cutting to use in applique projects and those are all in a basket.   Now I just need to actually make something with them....LOL>

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 18
Points 495
3DaneDogs replied on Sat, Mar 31 2012 6:24 PM

I've got bins too.  I found a stand up thing that was supposed to be used for screws, nails etc. and has different sized bins on four different levels.  I've been using Bonnie Hunter's ideas for scraps and cutting the smaller ones down to her size suggestions.  I DO have a bunch that are too big to cut but too small to call a 'fat quarter.'  It's all a work in progress, but I've already used some of my scraps when I've needed squares, rectangles, etc.  I just have way more scraps than I have time to cut them!  I've also recently purchased a cabinet with four shelves that I'm using to organize my fat quarters by color family.  If my scrap is big enough to be called a fat quarter, it gets folded and put in there.

Top 10 Contributor
Female