Page 1 of 2 (24 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 23 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 6
Points 420
geewee Posted: Sat, Mar 24 2012 5:13 PM

Hi everyone,

My name is Kim and I am new to the Quilters Club of America and I am looking forward to getting to know you.  I am an avid scrapbooker and stamper and I want to start making my own quilts for our beds in our home. In the past, I have sewn curtians and pillows for our home but nothing elaborate. My style is shabby chic or bright fun colors. I have some questions and was hoping I could get some advice.

1.  What is the best economical machine I should buy so that I can quilt?

2.  Is there a website, video or resource you would recommend for me to check out to learn the basics of quilting?

3.  Have any of you used scrapbooking dies to cut shapes for your quilts?

4.  If I am planning on making around 6 quilts over time, is it worth investing in a machine or should I just buy the materials and pay someone to sew them together and quilt for me?

• Filed under:
  • | Post Points: 155
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,368
Points 19,465
safrmaz replied on Sat, Mar 24 2012 6:01 PM

Welcome Kim :)  I'll try to answer your questions.  

You will need to set a price point on what you want to spend on a machine.  For quilting you would want needle up/down.  There is a lot of pivoting with piecing and it's a VERY nice feature.  Large throat space is also nice if you plan to machine quilt your quilts.  I would also  suggest trying out machines and look at their stitch quality.  Buy from a dealer who is conveniently located and who gives classes or one on one support in machine use.  Also, buy the best you can afford.  That may be a good used machine.  I own Bernina and Janome machines and am happy with both.