Quilt Top

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 18 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,408 Posts
Points 19,580
Melissa Halpain posted on Sun, Feb 26 2012 6:43 PM

How many of you actually do your own quilting.  How many of you pay to have someone else do the quilting for you.  I am just learning free motion quilting and I'm wonder if it is worth it. The instructor told me to practice everyday for 20 minutes for 21 days and at the end of 21 days, I should have it down.  Thank you for your input.

Georgetown CA I'd Rather Be Quilting

• | Post Points: 140

All Replies

Not Ranked
53 Posts
Points 1,240
diane replied on Sun, Feb 26 2012 6:49 PM

Although I am a beginner, I am quilting my own (largest so far was 60 inches square) projects.  I'm a "lone quilter" so there is no one to tell me I can't do [fill in the blank] or I don't have the skills to do [fill in the blank].

Admittedly, some of my pracitce projects go to The Linus Project but others are good enough to keep or give as gifts (and TLP loves my personal "not good enough" rejects.)

I think the advice you received is excellent - practice!

Chews Landing, NJ

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,788 Posts
Points 122,730

I machine quilt all my own quilts. I have a Viking with a 10" throat. It's pricey to send your quilts out to a long armer but that's only one of the reasons I do my own.  Even though it is a bit tedious to machine quilt and I'm always anxious to get on to the next one, I like the satifaction of making it entirely my own quilt.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

Top 100 Contributor
Female
872 Posts
Points 14,245
Dara replied on Sun, Feb 26 2012 7:10 PM

Melissa,