Page 1 of 2 (18 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 17 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 96
Points 2,025
Barb S Posted: Sun, Feb 19 2012 10:17 AM

I need help making a decision.  When I started this quilt (a birthday present for my oldest daughter), I just thought I would do what I have done on previous quilts (I am a beginner) and stitch in the ditch on my home sewing machine -- but I am having second thoughts and I am at the point of putting the quilt sandwich together so I need to make a decision..  

This is the largest quilt I have done so far (full size) and it is the first quilt I have made by piecing the blocks on point and putting in the setting triangles.  I won't lie -- there are some small oopsies! in the quilt top -- but I am the kind of quilter that does not try for perfection -- good enough is good enough for me.

I have always wanted to try hand-quilting and I have a small lap frame which has never been used -- should I go ahead and give it a try -- or am I taking a chance on messing up all the work I have put into the quilt top?  How long should it take to hand-quilt a full size quilt -- if I am able to work on it a couple hours every day.  Or should I just wait until I have a smaller project to start hand quilting.  Because it is for my daughter, I have the idea that I would like it to be hand-quilted, with love, but, I need to know if I am being too ambitious for a beginner.

What say, my sister quilters???  Anyone want to help me with this decision -- share your first hand-quilting experiences -- warn me off or encourage me on -- give me tips and techniques --- tell me what to watch out for --- Any help would be so appreciated.  And, the sooner, the better.

Thanking you in advance -- because you have all been so helpful on my earlier questions.

BarbS

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 19,776
Points 247,884
Barbara replied on Sun, Feb 19 2012 10:38 AM