Page 1 of 2 (16 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 15 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 165
mrs_goodwrench Posted: Sun, Feb 19 2012 8:12 AM

Greetings All!

I am a newbie on this site but a veteran quilter (made my first quilt in 1975).  This week I bought a 1906 Singer sewing machine.  Anyone else into the oldies?  I hope to get it fixed up and running.  It has both the treadle drive and an electric motor.

Would love to hear from anyone else out there into the old sewing machines. :o)

Blessings,

mrs_goodwrench 

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,209
Points 16,230
Susan replied on Sun, Feb 19 2012 9:31 AM

Welcome, Mrs_Goodwrench! I love the old sewing machines, but do not own one. Where are you from? Tell us a little about yourself. Looking forward to seeing some pics of your work and your machine.                                                   Susan, North,Florida

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,059
Points 170,827
MNnancy replied on Sun, Feb 19 2012 9:43 AM

Mrs. Goodwrench,

I think you will be hearing from many owners/lovers of vintage machines.   Welcome to QCA!   I hope we'll be hearing much more from you.

On the banks of the Mississippi River in north central Minnesota (Brainerd lakes area)

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 5,109
Points 109,590
chocake2 replied on Sun, Feb 19 2012 10:00 AM

mrs_goodwrench:
Anyone else into the oldies? 

Guilty, as charged.

I have, umm, I think 13 old machines (Pre-dating 1950) at last count. 2 treadles - A 1929 Singer Model 66 and a Sterling that I haven't been able to date. I use a 1927 Singer Electric as my back-up for my Bernina. Hubby bought me a zig-zagger attachment for it for Christmas, so I'm a happy girl!  The treadle did hard service for years when I was making 'Authentic" period clothing for cowboy re-enactors.  I love that machine! It's earned it's semi retirement.