Page 1 of 2 (25 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 24 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,221
Points 41,055
Donna B Posted: Wed, Feb 1 2012 6:48 PM

I have been quilting for several years now, but have conveniently avoided blocking my quilts.  Instead, I square them up as best I can, apply the binding and call it good.  I finally decided with my current quilt project that come h... or high water, I was going to block this sucker.  I printed out an instruction sheet from Leah Day's website on blocking and now have it pinned out and drying with fans for circulation.

My big question to all of you is:  Do you block your quilts?  Or, is this about like the pre-wash fabric  question, ie: some do and some don't.

Winthrop, WA

• Filed under:
  • | Post Points: 170
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,179
Points 15,750
Susan replied on Wed, Feb 1 2012 6:53 PM

Donna, I do not block my quilts, but like you, I square it up and bind it.  I,m interested to see what everyone else does too.                       Susan

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,383
Points 115,335

Blocking quilts? Well now, this is a new one to me. I'm going to be interested in what everyone has to say. I do square up the quilt as much as possible before putting on binding but I don't imagine this is what it means to block?

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 371
Points 6,495
Arzella replied on Wed, Feb 1 2012 7:09 PM

I am completely lost Donna.  I have never heard of Blocking quilts.  I will research that to see what it is.  Very interesting.

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,221
Points 41,055
Donna B replied on Wed, Feb 1 2012 7:10 PM