Help with pinning layers

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 41 Replies | 7 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
80 Posts
Points 1,265
Glenda posted on Sat, Jan 28 2012 4:06 PM

Greetings All,

I am fairly new to quilting.  I have made a rag quilt and some small projects like table toppers and wall hangings.  I am pretty much self taught, although I did take one machine applique class.  I have put together my first full size quilt top.  Tonight, I spent four hours crawling around on the floor trying to pin my quilt top to the batting and backing.  All looked well from the top side of things.  I started in the middle and worked my way around evenly on all sides.  However, when I was finally finished (and my fingers felt like I had been massaging sandpapers for three days) I picked the quilt up.  I was so disappointed.  No matter that I smoothed and tried so hard to keep all the fabrics flat, I have wrinkles in between the pins.  Can anyone give me any advice on doing this?  I have heard of tacking the layers to the wall, but I live in a small place and I don't have that kind of wall space.  I had to move my furniture to the kitchen just to have a large enough area to lay the quilt flat.  I am frustrated and will appreciate any advice...especially if it comes with pictures....LOL

• | Post Points: 170

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,741 Posts
Points 436,665
Nana replied on Sat, Jan 28 2012 10:24 PM

Gini

I was wondering the same thing.  I have sprayed the batting and smoothed the top over it before.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
10 Posts
Points 65
NINAV replied on Sat, Jan 28 2012 10:49 PM

I like to tape my backing with blue painters tape and then smooth the batting with the tape and then the top.  I start in the middle and work to the sides pinning.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
9,443 Posts
Points 127,624