Page 2 of 6 (85 items) < Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last » | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 84 Replies | 11 Followers

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,720
Points 436,870
Nana replied on Sat, Jan 21 2012 1:28 PM

I am a self taught quilter.  The only guidance I had was watching Simply Quilts with Alex Anderson.  After watching several episodes I decided that I could do this.   Went and got a book of patterns and some fabric and the rest is history.  I have never looked back.   Now I do some form of quilting everyday.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 35
Points 1,355

I found out what blouse weight is.  It's the lowest of the four weights of fabric - blouse, bottom, light upholstery, heavy upholstery.  This is the weight that is generally used for quilting.  And within this are different thread counts. I asked the one particular site that has the "blouse weight" what the thread count of their fabric is and they said 60.  I am very disappointed as I understand quilts should be made on nothing less than 65.  This site had a great selection of depression era that I couldn't find anywhere else.  Oh well . . . . . I still have lots of fabrics to chose from.  I've picked out just over 100 from 6 different sites and am trying to whittle that down to about 20.

Ellie

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,415
Points 415,724
gini replied on Sat, Jan 21 2012 9:31 PM

hi ellie, welcome to the group

gini in north idaho

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,587
Points 75,910
Karla replied on Sun, Jan 22 2012 12:08 AM

Welcome Ellie

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 31
Points 680

I've been quilting for about a year now.  I've taken a couple of classes, watched some videos, and did some experimentation on my own.  I already knew basic sewing because of my Grandmother's instructions as a kid so it was just a matter of learning a few other techniques and I was off.