Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 22 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 42
Points 1,035
Alicia Posted: Sat, Nov 7 2009 3:15 PM

Hi! I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Alicia, and I live in Anchor Point Alaska, which is about 200 miles south of Anchorage. My husband and I run a boat launch business in the summer, and in the fall and winter I quilt. :) I started quilting as a "tween" when my mom and I took a log cabin class together. Then I gave it up until I was 16 or so, and I started a buckeye beauty quilt, which I finished in 2005, just oh, 10 years after I started it I guess. I learned to sew as a kid, and hated it, until I figured out that I love to quilt, but I don't like to make clothes (I'm always disappointed they don't look the way I pictured/wanted). I really got into quilting as a way to avoid having to watch college football/basketball, which my family is very in to.  Now I just love it! I would say I'm self-taught, maybe advanced beginner level. I only do machine quilting/sewing because I get very impatient hand sewing/quilting. One of the things I love most about quilting is being able to see and feel what I've done with my time, and of course working with the beautiful fabrics and patterns. The pictures are of my last 2 projects. The top one is bear paws (made from scraps), with a center panel from a pattern called "Elusive Wanderer". It was my first applique, and I've very excited about it. The mountain is batik fabrics, and is appliqued with holoshimmer thread, in a silvery/iridescent color. The second quilt I made for my mother in law for Christmas last year, from Eleanor Burns' "Still Stripping after all these years" and some beautiful purple fabric that I loved!