rated by 0 users
This post has 21 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 12
Points 555
Peg Posted: Fri, Nov 6 2009 5:30 AM

Hello everyone!

I'm sorry I've been so slow at introducing myself but we've had H1N1 running rampant through our house and it seems that I've had the hardest time getting it out of my system. We're all on the mend now but still fighting fatigue.

I've been quilting for about 10 years but I've been doing all sorts of needlework my entire life. I think my mom started teaching me to sew when I was about 4. I can remember always having a needle, thread or some sort of needlework in my hand any time I had a few free minutes.

My mom was a sewing teacher, seamstress and all around wonderful needle artist. The woman could do it all. Well all but quilt. She made beautiful clothing, she could knit and crochet the most intricate of tablecloths, bed coverings etc but she never learned to quilt and it was one thing she always loved and never had the opportunity to do. I started quilting when she died in 1999 and I haven't stopped since.

Most of all, I love applique. I prefer needleturn but also do quite a bit of machine applique as well. Piecing is fun but I'm an impatient person and sometimes get frustrated in making the same blocks over and over I like having a variety of things to do so I find I always have 3-4 projects going at once so I can switch up a bit when I get bored.