Page 1 of 179 (2684 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last » | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 2,683 Replies | 55 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,770
Points 66,013
Jeanine Posted: Thu, Aug 11 2011 7:01 PM | Locked

OK, let's see if this discussion feed will stay active. 

If you are a longarmer, post who you are, what kind of longarm you have and how long you have been quilting on your longarm.  It would be nice to know why or how you got into longarm quilting.  That will help us know who is out there!

Then, let's begin to share our questions, frustrations, tips and tricks, favorite threads and patterns...

So, I will begin.  I bought my APQS Millenium in May, 2011 so I'm fairly new to this.  I rented a machine for a year before I bought my own so that helped.  My longarm has a name...Mabel...as in "Able Mabel".  LOL  I run a quilt ministry, Quilts from the Bluffs, in Council Bluffs, IA so I have plenty of practice material.  I have also started my own longarm business, Threads of Faith, LLC, that is slowly taking off.  I am more concerned in getting experience than promoting my business right now but eventually I hope to make a real go of it.  At least by the time I retire.  I do mostly pantographs but I'm trying to venture out into the freemotion quilting.

Now it's your turn...

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,727
Points 437,045
Nana replied on Thu, Aug 11 2011 7:16 PM | Locked

Jeanine

I used to own a midarm but sold it this spring because I could no longer handle standing to do my quilting.  I was never able to do the pantographs so did all my quilting free motion.  I think the biggest problem I had was tension issues and thread breakage. 

I think this will be a great place for all the longarmers to discuss their quilting and machines.  I hope this goes well for all of you.

Vinton, Virginia

• | Post Points: 50
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 185
Points 5,395
Patti replied on Thu, Aug 11 2011 7:31 PM | Locked

Hi Jeanine!