Top 10 Posters

quilting on a domestic machine

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 24 Replies | 10 Followers

Not Ranked
1 Posts
Points 140
skfoster40 posted on Thu, Jul 21 2011 1:40 PM

How is the best way to quilt a full size quilt on my regular macine.  How do you manage all the quilt ( I roll on both  sides of the quilting area)?  How can you manage any kind of design other than straight line Or stippling? Thanks for your  help Sharon

• | Post Points: 140

All Replies

Not Ranked
Female
4 Posts
Points 80
Sandy replied on Sun, Jul 31 2011 11:03 AM

Kneeboma, what do you mean by "stabilize the blocks first".???   are you suggesting tear away stabilizer like we do in embroidery??  or is it something else.  I am a beginner quilter and have not heard of this before.   I'm using a Bernina with a BSR stitch regulator for free motion.  I was not taught to use stabilizer.

Looking for all the tips that will help me improve.    Sandy

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,405 Posts
Points 415,659
gini replied on Sun, Jul 31 2011 11:23 AM

Sandy:
stabilize the blocks first".???  

some quilters stitch around the blocks before they start the quilting, thus stabilizing the blocks so they don't shift during quilting

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 5
Top 150 Contributor
Female
425 Posts
Points 9,200
Answered (Not Verified) Pamela replied on Sun, Jul 31 2011 1:20 PM
Suggested by Pamela