Page 1 of 1 (4 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 101
Points 1,615
Janice D. Green Posted: Tue, Jul 19 2011 11:00 PM

When I started learning to do hand applique quilt blocks I was encouraged to make them with 1" seams. The person who recommended this to me knew little or nothing about my skills to do this and was worried that I would have many pieced highly puckered and would need the extra margin of safety. I now have to trim away a lot of excess fabric on my hexagon shaped pieces. Because everything is hand stitched, I am concerned about what will happen when I cut away the knots that are at the ends of the stitching. I was encouraged to make a double stitch every three stitches to keep any threads that may break later from unraveling. I'm thankful for that, but wonder if there is something I can do to better secure these cut threads. Perhaps a touch of glue on the thread outside the machine stitched seam would work. Any recommendations? Here is an example of one of the pieces.

Janice 

Bible Quilts, www.biblequilts.com

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,536
Points 417,914
gini replied on Tue, Jul 19 2011 11:41 PM

janice,  all the threads secured by the knots will unravel if the knots are cut off.   i cut my applique blocks 1 inch bigger, but i don't applique out to the edges. so what to do in your case?   first, if i understand you right, this quilt will be only used as a teaching aid, right.   in that case, you may get by, because it isn't getting a lot of heavy use.  but i wouldn't trust it.  if it were mine,  instead of using glue, i would start an inch or so in at every edge a knot has been removed and overstitch those areas.  

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 101
Points 1,615

Thank you Gini,