Page 1 of 1 (11 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 10 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 7
Points 185
E'yvonne King Posted: Sun, Jul 10 2011 7:22 AM

Hi you all, I am glad to be part of Quilter Club.  I have been a quilter for over 50 years.  My grandfather taught me how to sew by making quilts and I haven't stop since.  I still hand quilt  but love my long arm.  My cats love my long arm as well since it is their favoite place to sleep.  I am also a disabled Air Force Veteran and do many quilts for raffling.  Right now I am working on some wall quilts of the 5 branches of service and donate them to the Oklahoma Women Veterans Org in which I am a member/offficer. I have been involved on making quilts for Thank the Troops, (my quilts on page 50) by Judy Howard.  While in service, it was quilting that kept me sane.  Our next project, I am suggesting we send over some fabric, yarn, notions etc to our military ladies over seas, I am sure there are quiltrs, knitters, etc.  I beleive it will help them relax.  Thats it for now.

• | Post Points: 95
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 55
Points 805
Johnya replied on Sun, Jul 10 2011 7:56 AM

Welcome E'yvonne. I am new here myself and already people have made me feel at home! My grandmother was the one to teach me to sew by letting me hand-piece with her, so we have something in common. I hope you enjoy the QCA.

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 11
Points 230
Joanne replied on Sun, Jul 10 2011 8:23 AM

Hi E'yvonne,  Thank you for serving our country.  Welcome to the club, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

Joanne

• | Post Points: 5
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 622
Points 10,640
abcd replied on Sun, Jul 10 2011 8:26 AM

Welcome to you both, E'yvonne and Johnya!

This site is great, as it gives me the feel of my own special quilt guild, and I don't have to wait a month to meet up with everyone, and I don't have to worry if it's my time to bring snacks ~  ;D