Top 10 Posters

What is the hardest part about quilting?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 31 Replies | 15 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
5 Posts
Points 445
DIY_Mom posted on Sat, Jul 9 2011 10:56 AM

I'm getting ready to start my little window pane baby qulit. I'm new to quliting. I am thinking I'll just cut and sew blocks and strips just like anything else I do, but I'm wondering if I'm missing something. So tell me what the hardest part of quilting for you is. Also, what should I be aware of before I start? Any suggestions on best fabrics or materials to use. I don't have a fancy machine either, just an old basic Kenmore.

Thanks! I love this board. Everyone is so talented.

Lisa (Granite Bay, CA)

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,484 Posts
Points 43,625

sometimes the hard part is figuring out what went wrong.  Some have problems with color choices, some with accuracy, some with finishing.  everyone seems to have their own hurdle.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,842 Posts
Points 123,720

Hardest part for me is deciding on a pattern and what fabrics to use. Your Kenmore should do just fine. I love the blocks and strips quilts. They go relatively quickly and look beautiful. Fancy patterns are not required to have a gorgeous quilt. I'm a big fan of quality fabrics but use what you can afford and like. I shop in those 50% off bins at our local quilt stores. I haven't done too much on-line purchase of fabrics as I like to see them in person and spending hours in a quilt shop moving around piles of fabrics on the table is fun for me.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,537 Posts
Points 21,100

The hardest part for me is picking the fabric.   I have bought some fabric online but I love to go into quilt stores and look at and feel the fabric.

Margaret

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,224 Posts
Points 16,470