what thread to use for home-machine quilting

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 18 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
50 Posts
Points 1,515
Francine posted on Wed, Jul 6 2011 9:05 PM

I would like to start quilting on my home-machine and was wondering what would be the best thread

Francine

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Female
9,059 Posts
Points 170,827

For both piecing and free motion quilting, I use Essential thread from Connecting Threads.  It is a 50 weight extra long staple cotton thread.

On the banks of the Mississippi River in north central Minnesota (Brainerd lakes area)

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
3 Posts
Points 70
cmac replied on Thu, Jul 7 2011 7:18 AM

Where can you purchase this thread, and is there a particular reason you use it?    I am also new to quilting.   cmac

• | Post Points: 50
Top 25 Contributor
Female
9,059 Posts
Points 170,827

I like it because it works so well in my sewing machines, it's fairly low lint, comes in great colors, and the price is good.  It is on sale right now.

I receive their catalog at home, but they have a great web site, too.

www.connecting threads.com

On the banks of the Mississippi River in north central Minnesota (Brainerd lakes area)

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
9,059 Posts
Points 170,827

~delete duplicate

Top 10 Contributor
Female
19,778 Posts
Points 248,014

I like to buy my fabric from there but I've never used their thread ,I will have to give it a try..Barbara

Liberty,Missouri

EAT!! SLEEP !! QUILT!!

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
41 Posts
Points 640

Now I need to ask a question abot this. I brought my quilt machine in for service due to timing issues and they told me that 50 weight thread was to heavy for quilting...  I use 50 weigt thread on many quilts and have never had an issue... I think it is the quilters prference...

• | Post Points: 50
Top 25 Contributor
Female
3,391 Posts
Points 46,980