Newbie From Michigan

Page 1 of 1 (13 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 37
Points 930
MaryLouise55 Posted: Sun, May 22 2011 9:58 AM

Hi everyone, I am new to QCA and I live in the tulip city of Holland, MI. I have not made my first quilt yet because I do not know how to use color combinations or sew a quilt together, and how to quilt the design that is on a quilt. I have been to several quilt shows and I love the quilts that I have seen, and dream of making my own. 

I have lots of fabric that I have collected over the years to make quilts with, but do not know how to get started. I am hoping to learn some ways about making quilts. Someday I would like to enter a quilt in a quilt show.

It is a pleasure to meet all of you.

Happy Quilting,

Mary Louise, Holland, MI 

• | Post Points: 80
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,405
Points 415,659
gini replied on Sun, May 22 2011 12:14 PM

hello, mary louise, welcome to the group.  it is hard to get started.  pick an easy pattern with straight seams and don't worry about color for now,  just make one block.  if you like it, make another.   you can also do a mock up,   cut out miniature pieces of a block and arrange them until you like the colors.  i like to cheat and one way to do that is to pick a fabric you just love with a few or many colors in it.  use that to match colors that you like together.  you can also buy a collection that matches.  two color quilts are very striking, and anything mixed with black.  make a doll quilt, something small that you could donate to toys for tots or similar charity.  i use smaller quilts like that ot practice on.

a nine patch or four patch is a good place to start. log cabin is a bit more adventuresome, but has straight seams.  just jump in with both feet.    gini

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 20
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 402
Points 6,110
Pat M. replied on Sun, May 22 2011 1:14 PM