Top 10 Posters

Best Quilting Machine?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 23 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
25 Posts
Points 830
Beth posted on Thu, May 19 2011 7:07 AM

I apoligze if this has already been ask somewhere else.  I'm still learning how to get around the site...

My question is this:  What is the best quitling sewing machine and why?  the first answer being if money was no option and the second being if say you could only spend up to $500.

I currently have a Brother XL-6452 atm, but it is limited to say the aleast on what I can do.  I do put together quilts almost seem like weekly; always have a quilt in progress.  Machine quilting is a bit hard on it since the foot only rise so far and there not alot of choices on the stitching.  Freehand machine quilting is not exactly accurate, and yes, i am my worst own critic.  I would love to know what everyone is using; but also love to know what machine has the most to offer since I am thinking about upgrading to something that could offer me more. 

Thank you for any idea or suggestions!

Beth~

• | Post Points: 170

All Replies

Top 200 Contributor
Female
402 Posts
Points 6,110
Pat M. replied on Thu, May 19 2011 7:29 AM

I have a Bernina 440QE.  I love that I can use the stitch regulator when I want to or not use it at all.  I quilt all sizes with it and have no trouble--I even taught a non-quilter to quilt a very large quilt she made for her guest room (she was going to tie it because she didn't know what else to do).  I also do machine embroidery with my Bernina, so I have the what I feel is the best of both worlds.

Pat-"Keep Calm and Carry On"

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
1,023 Posts
Points 16,150

Hi Beth,

Baby Lock Symphony is the top Quilting Machine with all the bells and whistles for quilters.