Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 2
Points 145
Piddler Posted: Sun, Sep 13 2009 1:14 PM

I have 12 blocks that I have hand embroidered.  I want to make them into a quilt.  I bought some complimentary colors to make plain squares and borders to finish it.  I was just wondering what one could do instead of a plain pink square between the emboidered blocks. I want to accentuate the hand emboidered blocks and not over whelm them.  I am fairly new to quilting.  Could someone give me some ideas/advise.  Thank you so much.

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,445
Points 94,185

One of the things you could do, Piddler, is make a 4-patch or 9-patch block to go in between. I think that would look nice and would still accentuate your embroidered blocks. You could then use the same 2 or 3 colors in the borders. Or you could just have 12" blocks of the plain fabric for the blocks in between the embroidered blocks, but use sashing strips in between and above and below all the blocks. This would be fairly simply, too.

BTW, I see this is your first post. Welcome to the forums on QCA!

Gillette, WY

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,443
Points 127,624

Hi Piddler and welcome to QCA. 

Life is like a quilt...bits & pieces, joy & sorrow, stitched with love

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,349
Points 242,062
Thea replied on Sun, Sep 13 2009 4:10 PM

Piddler welcome to QCA.  Instead of just plain blocks you could do a rail fence block - 4 of them in one block of the colors to match your blocks.  You could do a simple 8 or 6 pointed star.  another neat block to do is the friendship star.  A simple nine patch would work nicely or a square in a square - those look very nice as setting squares.  What are your hand embroidered blocks of? 

Not Ranked
Posts 22
Points 350
Genice replied on Sun, Sep 13 2009 4:11 PM