Page 1 of 4 (48 items) 1 2 3 4 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 47 Replies | 10 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 58
Points 1,670
Lisa FA Posted: Thu, Mar 3 2011 7:02 PM

I am new to QCA, and I notice that there is not a group for those interested in making art quilts.  Is this something that others would be interested in?  I would define "art quilt" to mean something that does not fall into the traditional quilting patterns.  I could see the group discussing techniques, inspirations, etc., more experienced art quilters being able to offer advice to those of use newer to it,  and perhaps having "challenges" where we choose a subject or inspiration for making a quilt every couple of months and each share our individual interpretation.  

I would love to hear from other fans of art quilting to see if creating an art quilt group seems like a good idea.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 24,763
Points 365,032
Kris replied on Thu, Mar 3 2011 7:34 PM

Hi Lisa,

Welcome to the group.

I love looking but I haven't made an art quilt yet. Too chicken I guess. I'm sure there are other here who would be happy for such a group.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 7,183
Points 111,515
Linny t replied on Thu, Mar 3 2011 7:50 PM

Hi, Lisa.  I think it would be a wonderful idea. 

Have you seen the show that is on TV hosted by Pokey Bolton called Quilting Arts?  It's all about art quilts; multi media & fiber art type stuff.  I love watching that show.  I haven't made one, but a lot of the ideas translate to crazy quilt which is what I'm up to now days.

Linny T

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 58
Points 1,670
Lisa FA replied on Thu, Mar 3 2011 8:01 PM

No Linny, I haven't seen that show.  I'll try to find it, thanks for the tip :) 

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 34
Points 275

I would second that idea.

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 34
Points 275

Yes and besides the shows, Pokey I believe is the Editor in chief of the magazine Quilting Arts by