Now What? Basting The Quilt

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 10 Replies | 4 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
Female
405 Posts
Points 8,215
Pat A posted on Fri, Feb 4 2011 8:22 AM

Thanks to Everyone for the warm welcome and the advice about my quilt batting.  So now I have the backing washed and ironed and laid out on the floor.  I have the batting (unwrinkled) spread out and smoothed on top.  I have the top ironed.  On to the sandwiching. 

Do you pin, baste or use spray basting adhesive?  Which do you like best?  If you are basting the quilt, how big are the basting stitches?  You can tell I have never done this before and really am nervous about it.  Mostly I just hope once I get down on the floor I can get up again!!

Has anyone ever heard of a basting gun?  Have you ever tried it and where did you get it.  I was on another web site and someone mentioned it.

Pat in Ky

• | Post Points: 65

All Replies

Top 150 Contributor
Female
448 Posts
Points 5,660

Hi Pat--it's up to you how you baste the quilt. I like to use pins but have heard the basting gun works well. I've read that you should space your pins or basting a hand apart--lay your hand on the quilt and baste that far apart. That works for me.

Good luck.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,265 Posts
Points 35,160

Pat I am also a pin baster.  I find it easier to take out a pin in the way of quilting than basting thread, it is also easier on my hands

Granny M

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,114 Posts
Points 410,999
gini replied on Fri, Feb 4 2011 11:04 AM

hey pat,

pin basting hurts my hands, no matter how many gadgets i use to help,  it works well.

i baste most of my larger quilts.  you start in the middle and work out about a stitch every 6 to 8 inches,  then i go back and bast the other direction  and two diagonal bastes. 

it costs about $20 to have a long arm quilter baste a quilt., and i have this done when i have a HUGE quilt.