Top 10 Posters

First Sewing Machine

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 53 Replies | 10 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
2 Posts
Points 235
Maggie posted on Fri, Dec 3 2010 9:59 AM

Hey all!

I'm a new quilter, who caught the bug from my VERY talented grandmother who's my idol. For the past few months I've been doing everything by hand as I don't have a sewing machine yet. But my very generous parents have offered to buy me one for Christmas! I'm a college student, so it really helps. I'm wondering if any of you have suggestions on good machines, or at least specific features I should look for. Our budget is from about $200-300. Also, does anyone suggest looking for machines on Ebay? Has anyone had good luck? bad luck? Depends on the seller I guess.

Thanks in advance for all your help, I love this message board already!

Maggie

• | Post Points: 170

All Replies

Top 100 Contributor
Female
811 Posts
Points 12,464

Granny M. I think shopping around is a good idea. Wish I could do that. My DH is disabled and I can't or don't want to leave him for too many hours. I think other than this dealer  my only other choice would be in OK. To far to go.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,270 Posts
Points 35,195

Joan L.:
my only other choice would be in OK. To far to go.

Understandable,  but don't you hate it when you don't have choices?      Granny M

Top 100 Contributor
Female
811 Posts
Points 12,464

Granny M. I hear you. Don't even get me started about the lack of places to buy fabric.

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,270 Posts
Points 35,195

Joan L.:
Don't even get me started about the lack of places to buy fabric.

Thank goodness for on-line shopping.            Granny M

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
3,771 Posts
Points 50,500
mars92 replied on Mon, Jan 10 2011 8:53 PM

Granny M