Newbie from Beaumont, Tx

Page 1 of 1 (13 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 145
oceanreef79 Posted: Fri, Dec 3 2010 7:23 AM

Hello Ladies, my name is Michelle and I'm a newbie in this sewing world !, I just bought me a sewing machine, Singer Simple, and i made 2 quilts so far, one for my daughter and one for my son. I like to piece them together, but... here is my question, how can i quilt it on my sewing machine?, do i need something special to quilt it?, what kind of pattern would be easy for me?, is there any tutorial around here?, thanks in advance.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,249
Points 172,978
Marie replied on Fri, Dec 3 2010 7:32 AM

Welcome Michelle.  Won't be long before you get the answer to your questions.  The gals here are very knowledgeable and helpful.

Millbury, MA

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 19
Points 325

Hello Michelle!  

How are things in Beaumont this morning?  Welcome to sewing and can I say how proud I am for you that you are already exploring your sewing skills and have made TWO quilts already!  

I am sort of "new" at machine quilting too.  I have done something called "Free motion" quilting.  If your machine came with a "darning foot" this is done rather simply.  go to your book and it should show you how to attach your darning foot.  Then i just wiggled around and made what appeared to be antlers.  If you have a walking foot (you might have to buy one at your dealer) you can do straight lines.   

here is a nice video...  http://www.monkeysee.com/play/10924-how-to-machine-quilt  really basic stuff...   she is just using a small block to show, but if you are doing a big quilt you have to bunch it up and maneuver it around.  A lot of ladies here have far more experience than I do, so we'll let them field for a while.

WELCOME WELCOME WELCOME! 

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,696
Points 436,330
Nana replied on Fri, Dec 3 2010 8:53 AM

Michelle